Faceless Dummy

It isn’t me you tie up nice and tight
It isn’t me who mustn’t get away
It isn’t me who needs to put things right
It isn’t me who is supposed to stay

It isn’t me you torture with delight
It isn’t me whose pain has got to pay
It isn’t me you hit & hurt & bite
It isn’t me who might make you OK

I’m just a faceless dummy you can burn
A voodoo doll in which to stick your pins
A substitute who isn’t your concern
A whipping boy for someone else’s sins:
What does it matter if I don’t return?
This wound is ancient. Neither of us wins.

Leave a Reply

